MILL TALES INN

                        TESTIMONIALS  

FROM OUR GUESTS



  

"Been to ur place of business many, many times. Luv it.
Excellent food.."

- Marilyn Poole (August 2016)


 "Just had the fish and chips special and officially in a food coma. Best fish and nicest servers EVER! 10/10!"

- Kevin James Francis (March 2016)


 "The lower banquet room was perfect for our wedding. From the decorations (provided by owner Lauralee) to the wonderful staff, everything was perfect. Thank-you!" 

- Dinah Minogue (April 2016)

 

 


"The best place in Tillsonburg :) "

- Rene Knudsen (August 2015) 


"Great food, great staff."

- Doreen Gunkel (August 2015) 


"Dinner was amazing tonight...thank you..."

- Marilyn Ilene (December 2014)


"Everything was awsome!!!!"

- Jason North (December 2014)


"Best Fish N' Chips Ever"

- Michael Muller (October 2014)


"Great place for eating, excellent variety of different foods to types all for a very reasonable price, the best fish I've ever ate I love it so much, and great friendly staff definitely will be revisiting this place for many years to come."

- Tayler Limpert (November 2014)

"Wonderfull place to visit."

- Barbara Clark, Facebook (August 2014)


 "This establishment is a plus to our town and always a pleasant and enjoyable atmosphere to bring your family and friends."

- Paul & Lee Woods, Facebook (August 2014)


 "It's beautifully now also the best fish in town."

- Doreen Gunkel, Facebook (August 2014) 


 "Good staff, good food, good prices."

 - Anthony Dixon, Facebook (July 2014)


 "Love your restaurant! Beautiful decor, delicious food!"

 - Alex Visscher, Facebook (June 2014)


 "The owners really takes care of you! Quiet convenient Tillsonburg location. Lively restaurant" 

- Thomas, TripAdvisor (May 2014)


"Flexible courteous staff, nice facility, great food and service."

- Bruce, TripAdvisor (March 2014)


"It was awesome. Loved the native wood walls and ceilings. Staff were friendly, very comfort and my husband and I loved the manual air condition/heater in our room. The jacuzzi is awesome. The restaurant was excellent, service was superb and the waitor was super friendly. Overall we give 9.5 ratings. If you haven't been there, you should definitely be going!..We're looking forward to going again :)"

- April, TripAdvisor (January 2014)


 "I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and the range of selection. Our parents rave about this place and wanted to take us here...we weren't too sold on the idea but in the end we were really glad we took the time to try it. The Sunday brunch offered a range of breakfast foods, salads, fruits
and lunch foods. However, this was hands down the best pickerel we have ever had at a restaurant. It was wonderful to sit in the sun room and
watch the ducks float down the stream as we ate.

When the bill came we were shocked at the value. It was $90.00 including the tip for six adults. We definitely ate our fill and then some, so the was so reasonable. The only draw back was the line. We arrived for brunch at around 10:30, so we escaped it. However, by 11:00 the line was out the door. I guess this speaks about the quality of the food more than anything else. We asked the waitress about reservations, she said that they do take them. I would highly recommend this option if you don't want to wait."

 - Cheryl (January 2014)


"This was our very first visit to MillTales…we immediately felt the warmth of the Inn when we arrived. The atmosphere is welcoming and the décor is so unique with all of the natural wood themes and antiques. It almost feels as if you’re back in time, yet with all the benefits of modern technology – best of both worlds kinda thing.

Our food was delicious; we ordered shrimp and wrap appetizers, prime rib and salmon. Everything was cooked to perfection and our server, Lindsay, was
exceptional and super friendly. Craiger’s fresh fish was outstanding and
we enjoyed our brunch the next day, too.


"When I want to go take my family out somewhere nice to sit down and eat the Mill has been the spot everyone agrees to go to. Though we probably go 2 times a year we have had a great time on each occasion. The food is great and plenty and the large windows and old-fashion feel is fantastic. Everyone In my family highly enjoys their fish n chips. If your wondering about the place you should just try it out.
Ive been around this area for a while and when I do go to the Mills its
never been disappointing. "

 - Bear-moon (December 2013)


"The owners were totally hospitable and showed much interest and care in their guests’ experience. We found them to be very gracious and openhearted. Our stay was magical. The rooms were clean and inviting. We went for walks by the creek on the trails and enjoyed the beautiful scenery.
We loved it! We will be back…"

- Burge (November 2013)


"Each Sunday they offer a nice brunch including a full breakfast fare also perch and lasagna, nice choice of desert incuding a chocolate fountain, very good value for your dollar and nice views from the back dining area. Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends."

- Rob (November 2013)


 "We have been to the Mill Tales Inn twice for our staff Christmas Party.
They give you the basement room for free if you have a number of people attending - we had 40 people. The food is amazing. We had prime rib of beef, ham, chicken, and of course the pickerel. There were potatoes and vegetables too of course. Guests went up more than once, and it was usually for the pickerel and the beef! The costs are very reasonable for the amount and quality of the food. There was a huge line up of 'regular' customers so the place is well known for it's food. The atmosphere in the basement is plain and simple, but since you have it to yourself, you can create your own fun Christmas party. The food sells this place"

-  Badforever (November 2013)


 
"Cant say enough, nice town great people and fantastic service! Nicest Inn
I've ever been to. Excellent food and such a nice dining environment.
Nicest room with jacuzzi, didnt wanna leave at all. Cant wait to return"
 
- Justinyg (April 2013)
 
 
"Went in a Sunday for the Brunch, arrived about noonish and place was packed,most likely the Church goers etc... Had to wait about 15 mins as there was a good sized line up but they have a nice display if old nicnaks to look at,server took us to our Tavel which was in there patio over looking the river/creek...I thought that was a lottery win as the view was awesome,you can watch the ducks and see the odd fish in the river right from your Dining seat,waitress came up to us right Way and told us if we would like coffee to turn our cups upright,and to help ourselves to the Buffett....well off we went to a delious looking assortment if country style brunch items such as Fresh local DELICIOUS pickeral and perch and House style Fried Chicken and a yummy macaroni casserole of some kind,also there was nice fresh salads to choose from and all your breakfast stuff,scrambled eggs,bacon French toast,pancakes,yummy home fries and brown beans...then the DESSERT was very yummy also...homemade cheesecake and ruce pudding and lots if fresh fruit with a chocolate fountain to dress your dessert....We had all that and Orange juice and coffee is part of the deal for taxes and all under $30 dollars....Don't know why the negative reviews but there is always whiners that expect to be treated like royalty,just like going on all inclusive Vacations there are crybabies no matter where ever you go....I will be back and I will share this secret place with good friends that are looking for a great place to kill a couple of hours and enjoy good ole country cooking....mmmmmm mmmm...see ya soon"

- Robbobbillybob (April 2013)

 
 "Tillsonburg has a hidden gem, who would have thought. Going for a drive we stopped at Kelsey's for a bite to eat, and Keith was our server, (fun, fantastic personality, such an addition to Kelsey's and good server) when asked suggested we try the Inn. We have stayed at many places through out Ontario, high end and otherwise and this ranks in the top 3 of all the places we have stayed. The minute we walked through the door, Laura made us feel right at home. The rooms amazing and clean and just delightful, the food fantastic and the staff right on point. The view from the dining area so wonderful. The Mill Tales Inn is definitely a hidden gem and a
must experience to anyone."
 
- Samara (November 2012)
 

"My wife and I have eaten at the Mill Tales Inn a couple of times now since we moved to the area in the summer. Each time the food was great and the service was as well. The Erie perch dinner is wonderful. Prices are reasonable as well. "
- Tim N. (October 2012)



 "I have had nothing but great experiences here! I have gone for dinner 2 times and brunch once plus I had my wedding here! Every time the food was excellent (the fish and chips are the best I have ever had!) the only negative thing I can say is the place moves a bit slow, but honestly it wasn't a big deal. My wedding was fantastic! The owner and chef were both so helpful and did anything they could to make our day the best! We had a pretty tight budget, but they were able to accommodating it and still make a beautiful event! We and our guests booked all the rooms in the hotel and found the beds extremely comfortable, loved the personal keurig machines in each room, and the place has so much charm! My husband and I also took photos on the grounds and man that place is gorgeous! Two of my bridesmaids were vegan and one was even gluten free but they were so accommodating even making special meals for breakfast and lunch as well as serving LOTS of extra veggies at the wedding! I don't know what happened to people who gave bad reviews, but after dealing with the owner and chef I have come to realize they are some of the sweetest, down to earth, accommodating people I have met."
 
- Melissa (October 2012)

 
 "I can't review on the rooms, but I can on the restaurant. The service is really good. Not too long a wait for the meal to arrive. The fresh fish is so yummy!! Not heavily battered, just nicely done. I love the rustic feeling of the Inn. I have been twice and hope to return again soon!"
 
- Suzanne (September 2012)
 
 
"A huge thanks to the servers and Chef Danielle and of course the owners for the best wedding a couple could ask for! We had an amazing outdoor ceremony on the pond and finished with dinner and dancing inside. We got nothing compliments from our 65 guest about the food and service from the Inn. The dinner was amazing as well as cocktail hour and the mid night buffet. We loved everything about having our wedding at Mill Tales Inn. The entire wedding party stayed over at the INN and it was so comfy and convenient. I hope to be back to enjoy some more dinners at the Inn
and share pictures! Thank you again!! "
 
- Jessie (September 2012)
 
 
"This is a charming little inn just off the 'beaten path' in Tillsonburg, Ontario. While we have not stayed at the inn, being residents of Tillsonburg, we have viewed the amenities of the inn and are suitably impressed. We would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay overnight in our fair town. We never are able to come across an establishment like this when we travel. We do dine quite frequently at the inn, in fact it has become our favourite dining establishment. The meals are outstanding, being well priced and consistently meeting out expectations (not many restaurants can accomplish that). The serving staff are friendly and responsive to your needs. Try "Craig's Fish and Chips" once and you will become a regular. Take the time to find the Inn when passing through Tillsonburg - you won't regret it. "
 
- Bellman (August 2012)

 
 "I went in for dinner tonight with my family and i must say everything was great! The server we had was extermly bubbly and friendly. She made sure that we our drinks were always full and that we were taken care of even though the place was packed and there were only three servers which one was in her first night of training. It was great to see the owner helping out where she could with drinks and doing her best to keep things going smoothley.Over all the night was great and I am looking forward to going back."
 
- Sarah  (August 2012)

 
"It's really cool inside.  The owner and his friend fixed everything themselves ... it's very rustic.  We sat in the dining room that overlooked a brook."
 
- Teena D. (January 2012)
 

 
"I've dined with my family on three different occasions at this restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed each visit. The restaurant is a beautifully restored mill on the edge of a small river. The patio area overlooks the river and adjacent golf course and has a very nice view. We found the service very prompt and efficient although we do try and avoid their busiest times. The food is delicious and very reasonably priced. It has turned into one of our favourite spots to dine out."
 
- Jay (May 2010)


"My adult daughter and I found this unique Inn quite by accident while on a little weekend getaway in Tillsonburg. A very helpful front desk employee offered to give us a tour of the premises before we decided whether we would like to stay the night. Built on the foundation of an old mill, the Inn is three stories and a wood-lovers paradise. Each room is panelled in a different local hardwood. We had the Ash Room and our bathroom was Cedar which smelled lovely. Some roomshave a jacuzzi. Everything is brand new.

Decoration of some of the rooms are still being worked on, but when complete there will be ten rooms. There are also meeting and banquet facilities available.
The Inn backs on Otter Creek, and across the creek are nice walking/biking trails. Just up the road there is a golf course.
The Inn is situated on the edge of town, but is in close proximity to the downtown area. There is a large dining room on the main floor, with an extension at the back for more tables in an annex that has glass walls on three sides where you can dine overlooking the creek and the parkland beyond.
Although only recently opened, the dining room was packed on the Saturday night we were there and people were coming in for the Sunday Brunch when we were leaving the next morning. Both dinner and breakfast menus had plenty of choices and prices were reasonable. We enjoyed both of our meals.
A few glitches to work out with the service, but I'm sure those will be ironed out quickly. We were happy to find this alternative to the usual motel
and enjoyed our stay."
  

- Anonoymous (November 2009)                   


 

"Definitely make
themselves a contender
for the title of best wings in the 'Burg"


   - Jeff Brown
LordoftheWingsBlogspot.com 


Date of Visit
:

December 2009
Source of Review:
LordoftheWingsBlogspot.com 
* Read full review here *


"The chicken wings, known as 'The Milled Wings', come in an order
of about 8 wings, with celery, carrots and blue cheese dip. Classic.
The blue cheese had lots of chunks and it seems like forever since
I've seen it as a dip with my wings."

"When the wings were put in front of me, I was impressed with their size.
They were large to jumbo. But that large to jumbo sized wing made me fear
a tough, rubbery chicken meat. Nope. Cooked just right.
I'm pretty sure its a fresh wing, not frozen."

"The wings were surprisingly good and definitely make
themselves a contender for the title of best wings in the 'Burg." 



Jeff Brown & his friends enjoying their time in the foyer
lounge as they wait to be seated.


  "By far our favourite place to
dine out in Tillsonburg
 

JayO

Date of Visit
:
May 2010
Source of Review:
Restaurantica.com

"We've been to this restaurant times and it's by far
our favourite place to dine out in Tillsonburg.
A very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.
We always try to sit on their indoor patio which provides a beautiful view. We've had fish & chips,various salads and have attended their Mexican night. Trust me you don't leave hungry. The servers are pleasant and efficient. I cannot think of one critisism during any of our dining experiences. This old Mill is now a beautiful restaurant.
A wonderful addition to Tillsonburg !!!!"


 "The service was outstanding!
Our food was great!"

HockeyGall11

Date of Visit
:
May 2010
Source of Review:
TripAdvisor.com

"We went to the Mill Tales Inn May 12th for a nice lunch. The service was outstanding! Our waitress was bubbly and fun to talk too. Our food was great! There was nothing anyone could
of complained about when we went. From reading these other reviews [from other sites] I have to say I disagree greatly.
I had a great time and will definately come back again!
Thank you Mill Tales!
I couldn't have asked for a better day at your restaurant!"



"The food was very tasty, served quickly and
our waitress was very pleasant and cheerful."

- Margaret. H.

Date of Visit:
August 26th 2010
Source of Review:
MTI Comment Box

"On August 26, 2010, four of us stopped in for dinner.
I must say the food was wonderful, three of us had the perch
and one person had the chicken. The food was very tasty,
served quickly and our waitress was very pleasant and cheerful.
This was the first time we ate there, we are from London and
we would certainly come back again."



Upcoming Events

Sunday, Oct 15 at 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Monday, Oct 16 at 11:00 AM - Thursday, Oct 19 8:00 PM
Sunday, Oct 22 at 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Monday, Oct 23 at 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM


We are hiring!

We are building our kitchen crew and looking for more serverscooks & dishwashers!

Click here to apply!